New7Wonders of Nature revealed

New7Wonders of Nature revealed

The New7Wonders of Nature have been announced, with four of the winning entries coming from Asia. The global online campaign has attracted more than 100 million votes in the past four years, with more than 440 locations from 220 countries and territories. There was no place in the final list however, for Australia’s entries, the Great Barrier Reef or Uluru.

The winners are:

Halong Bay
Iguazu Falls
Jeju Island
Puerto Princesa Underground River
Table Mountain

Bernard Weber, Founder-President of New7Wonders, announced the final list on Friday from the organisation’s headquarters in Zurich, Switzerland.

“We congratulate each of these participants on achieving their provisional New7Wonders of Nature status, and look forward to completing the confirmation process to celebrate each one in their own official inauguration ceremony early in 2012,” said Weber. “When the New7Wonders of Nature are confirmed they will join the man-made New 7 Wonders of the World in becoming part of Global Memory for humankind for ever.”

Gary Marshall
Written by:
Gary Marshall
Posted On:
Posted In:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *