India to offer VoA to Buddhist countries

India to offer VoA to Buddhist countries

Ministry of Tourism to develop three integrated circuits covering Buddhist sites…

India will extend the Visa on Arrival (VoA) scheme to Buddhist countries like Thailand and Malaysia. Speaking at the recently held International Buddhist Conclave in Varanasi, Subodh Kant Sahai, India’s Tourism Minister said, “The Ministry is drawing plans to attract more tourists from Buddhist countries by providing them special facilities. Apart from extending the VoA scheme, the ministry has also decided to develop a Ghat in the temple town of Varanasi in the name of Lord Buddha.”

India will extend VoA scheme to Buddhist countries

To develop the Buddhist tourism segment in the country, the ministry has identified three circuits to be developed during the 12th five year plan. The first circuit will be Dharmayatra or the Sacred Circuit covering Bodhgaya, Varanasi, Kushinagar, Piparva and a day trip to Lumbini in Nepal. The second circuit will be the extension of the first one Bodhgaya, Patna, Varanas), Kushinagar, Piparva and a day trip to Lumbini, Nepal. The last circuit to be developed will be the Buddhist Heritage Trails State Circuits covering Jammu and Kashmir (Ladakh, Srinagar and Jammu) and Himachal Pradesh (Dharamshala, Spiti, Kinnaur and Lahaul).

The International Buddhist Conclave was held with a view to showcase and project the Buddhist heritage of India.

Gary Marshall
Written by:
Gary Marshall
Posted On:
Posted In:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *